Home   |   Education   |   Membership   |   News   |   FAQs   |   About Us
Members:   Login   |   Register
YouTube   Twitter   LinkedIn   AWC Store
American Wood Council

AWC announces top 2017 webinars

Jan 17, 2018

Changes to 2018 NDS ranked #1

LEESBURG, VA. – An overview of significant changes for wood design in the 2018 National Design Specification® (NDS®) for Wood Construction topped the American Wood Council's 2017 webinars.

The top five webinars by attendance in 2017 are listed below. All are available on the American Wood Council (AWC) website as self-directed study programs to earn American Institute of Architects (AIA), International Code Council (ICC) or National Council of Structural Engineers Associations (NCSEA) credit.

  1. 2018 NDS for Wood Construction - NDS Changes
  2. Resolving Wood Shear Wall Design Puzzles with FTAO
  3. 2015 NDS Connections Primer
  4. Cornucopia of Classic Connection Conundrums
  5. Evaluation of Recommended Allowable Design Properties for Wood in Existing Structures

“The fact that our most popular webinar focused on changes to AWC’s flagship 2018 NDS standard highlights the needs of busy building code officials and design professionals to stay current,” said AWC Senior Director of Education Michelle Kam-Biron. “AWC is committed to providing these education resources for free to help ensure the code and design community has easily digestible information related to wood design. We will continue to build on these popular topics this coming year with our live webinar series.”

Tomorrow, AWC will provide an overview of the changes in the 2018 Wood Frame Construction Manual. On Thursday, February 15, AWC will detail the primary changes in the 2018 International Building Code and 2018 International Residential Code related to wood construction. Both free webinars offers 2 hours of continuing education credit.

Additional webinars on 2018 changes to codes and standards, as well as on various aspects of mass timber buildings are also planned through the year. Check our Events page for the schedule and to register.

AWC is approved as a Preferred Provider through ICC’s education Preferred Provider Program (PPP). Fifty percent of the CEUs required for certification renewal must be earned from training by ICC or an ICC Preferred Provider. AWC is also an approved provider of continuing education through the AIA Continuing Education System, and our education programs are registered with NCSEA’s Diamond Approval Program.


American Wood Council
222 Catoctin Circle SE, Suite 201
Leesburg, VA 20175

- Public Policy Office -
1101 K Street NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005
- Phone -
General: 202-463-2766
General Fax: 703-771-4079
Publications: 800-890-7732
Publications Fax: 412-741-0609
- Email -
Technical: info@awc.org
Publications: publications@awc.org
Education: education@awc.org
Fire: fire@awc.org
© Copyright 2019 American Wood Council. All Rights Reserved.