American Wood Council Elects New Officers

Nov 29, 2010
WASHINGTON - The American Wood Council (AWC) elected new officers during its (first) Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois on November 17-18, 2010. Serving for a one-year term are Chairman Joe Patton of The Westervelt Company; First Vice Chairman Brian Luoma of LP; Second Vice Chairman Fritz Mason of Georgia-Pacific LLC; and, Marc Brinkmeyer of the Idaho Forest Group as the Immediate Past Chairman. 

"I look forward to this opportunity to chair the board of directors for the wood products industry as it takes on the challenges of the coming year," said Joe Patton, newly elected AWC Chairman. "I am energized by the level of interest, support and commitment from our membership as we approach a new year and new challenges." 

The AWC Board of Directors added one new member and retained several others for continued service. George Emmerson of Sierra Pacific was newly elected to serve on the AWC Board of Directors. Returning Members of the Board include: Rob Taylor of Weyerhaeuser; Andrew Miller of Stimson; Pat Patranella of Temple-Inland; Maureen Frisch of Green Diamond; James Rabe of Masonite; and Diana Blenkhorn, representing the Canadian Wood Council. 

"I am pleased to continue working with our outstanding Board members," said American Wood Council President Robert Glowinski. "We all owe Marc Brinkmeyer a debt of gratitude for his leadership and commitment as the first chairman of AWC, and I look forward to working closely with Joe during the next year."