International Code Council Building Safety Month

Awareness Activities Hosted by American Wood Council


During the month of May, the American Wood Council (AWC) will be celebrating the International Code Council's (ICC) Building Safety Month to raise awareness and help individuals, families and businesses understand what it takes to create safe and sustainable structures. The campaign reinforces the need for adoption of modern, regularly-updated building codes, a strong and efficient system of code enforcement and a well-trained, professional workforce to maintain the system.


Week 1 (May 1-5): Preparing for Disasters: Build Strong, Build Smart
To kick off Building Safety Month, AWC will be covering how to prepare for disasters by building smart and strong. AWC will highlight their reference standards which are state-of-the-art, ensuring wood construction meets the latest recommendations on design loads and gives designers the tools they need. In addition, AWC will be sharing information about our code-referenced consensus standards via social media and our website. You can follow the conversation on Twitter via #BuildingSafety365, #BuildingSafetyMonth, #BuildWithWood, #WoodBuildsOurWorld.
Week 2 (May 6-12): Ensuring a Safer Future Through Training and Education
As an ICC Preferred Provider, AWC will be sharing information about our educational materials and courses for wood design and construction best practices as well as construction fire safety practices during week two. You can follow the conversation on Twitter as well as LinkedIn via #BuildingSafety365, #BuildingSafetyMonth, #BuildWithWood, #WoodBuildsOurWorld.
Week 5 (May 27-31): Innovations in Building Safety
AWC will be highlighting the role of the ICC code development process and how it successfully paved the way for the acceptance of tall mass timber buildings. The TMT (Tall Mass Timber) code changes are a good example of how the ICC process can work to allow for the introduction of new technologies and building systems. AWC will be sharing content and informational resources, including an infographic and tall wood toolkit on how to effectively navigate the new code changes. You can follow the conversation via #BuildingSafety365, #BuildingSafetyMonth, #BuildWithWood, #WoodBuildsOurWorld.
Building Safety Month
Building Safety Month

AWC’s Flame Spread Guide Updated

Jul 08, 2019

dca1LEESBURG, VA. – The American Wood Council (AWC) has released an updated version of Design for Code Acceptance (DCA) 1 - Flame Spread Performance of Wood Products Used for Interior Finish.

Primary changes in the DCA 1 include:

  • Updates to reflect 2018 International Building Code (IBC) provisions
  • Added reference to new ASTM E2579 and E2404 mounting standards
  • Addition of Black Spruce 3-ply cross-laminated timber

Wood materials are permitted to be used as interior finish in most building occupancies. The 2018 IBC requires interior wall and ceiling finish materials to be classified based on flame spread and smoke developed indices determined from testing under the ASTM E84 or UL723 test methods. The classifications then set conditions of use for interior finish materials in various occupancies and building locations.

“The flame spread index for a specific wood product is usually obtained from the manufacturer, but code officials and designers can make use of DCA 1 to determine the flame spread index for many lumber species and various engineered wood products," said AWC Manager of Engineering Technology Jason Smart, P.E.

DCA 1 provides flame spread indices for various wood species across a number of wood products normally used as interior finishes for walls and ceilings. All of the wood species and wood panel products listed in DCA 1 qualify as either Class B or Class C, and all have smoke-developed indices less than the limit required by the IBC.

Updated DCA 1 can be found on the AWC website: